The Next Chapter

This is a quick little post because I have some super exciting news to share!

If you’ve read previous posts of mine or follow me on Instagram, then you will know that I haven’t had the most positive experience of education; despite being an A grade student and excelling academically, I didn’t have a great experience socially which in turn contributed to my eating disorder and meant that my education was ripped away from me as I was withdrawn from college after just three months. I should have been sitting my A level exams this year and heading off to uni but that’s obviously not how things have worked out – and for a long time that bothered me, but now I’m slowly accepting that it’s ok to not be on the same path as everyone else my age. I used to want to do a law degree and whilst I still achieved good grades whilst at college, my heart just wasn’t in it – truth is I didn’t know what I wanted to do, but society puts so much pressure on young people that I always felt like I needed to have an answer and law just happened to be mine.

Over the past couple of years however I have become more and more interested in nutrition and completely overhauled my own lifestyle: I transitioned to veganism, switched to natural beauty products and practice yoga – a sentence that I thought I would never say. I don’t count calories or track macros and eating a plant based diet has left me feeling so much more energised – slowly I was beginning to realise that I wanted to pursue a career in the health industry.

The College of Naturopathic Medicines’s courses are something that I’ve been looking at for a long time and on Wednesday, I attended a course consultation where I enrolled as a Naturopathic Nutrition student which will make me a qualified nutritional therapist, enabling me to see my own clients! (even typing that out feels sooo surreal). So although withdrawing from college felt like the end of the world, it’s eventually led me on to a better path. I’m so happy to have found something that I’m truly passionate about and a course that will not only enable me to improve my own health, but to help others too. I’ve wanted to apply to this course for over a year but couldn’t due to age restrictions and honestly I wasn’t in the right mindset this time least year either. For a long time I felt guilty for taking time out from education, but now I realise that it was very much needed. Mental health should come before anything and I’ve fought so hard to get to a point where returning to education is even a possibility for me. I can’t recall the amount of times that I’ve been told no: that I can’t do things, that I’m too weak or vulnerable or that I will never achieve anything. People who don’t really know me were constantly acting as if they knew what’s best for me, and when you’re told those things so many times you do start to believe them. But I’ve still fought through all of that – I had an ambition to pursue a career in the health industry and although it may have taken a little longer to get here, I’ve eventually ended up on the right path for me.

It sounds so geeky but I’ve missed being in education so much! I’ve always been an academic at heart and I can’t wait to start learning again. I’m set to graduate as a qualified Nutritional Therapist in 2020 (aaaaah!) and who knows where that will take me – I could end up with my own practice, as a writer, teacher or researcher but wherever that place is, I’m so excited for the journey ahead of me.

Introducing Yas: The Story So Far
Anorexia Recovery: One Year OnΒ 

Leave a Reply

